Oregon Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements

0
79


How Many Hours of Continuing Education Are Needed to Renew Your Real Estate License in Oregon?

In Oregon, brokers and principal brokers must take continuing education every two years. The first time a broker or principal broker takes continuing courses is slightly different from continuing education courses in subsequent years.

Below are the requirements for CE for Oregon brokers and principal brokers.

Renewal Period: Two (2) years

Broker License Renewal

First-Time Continuing Education Requirements

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers before the renewal date:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course
  • 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices

All Subsequent Renewal Periods

For all active renewals after your first active renewal, you must:

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers within two years before renewal:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course.
  • A minimum of 27 additional hours of continuing education in required topics.

Principal Broker License Renewal Requirements

First-Time Continuing Education Requirements

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers before the first renewal of your active principal broker license:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course
  • 27-hour Principal Broker Advanced Practices Course

All Subsequent Renewal Periods

Take the following from Certified Continuing Education Providers within two years before renewal:

  • 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC).
  • A minimum of 27 additional hours of continuing education in required topics.

Oregon Real Estate License FAQs


  1. What states have reciprocity with Oregon real estate license?


    Having reciprocity with another state means that getting your real estate license is easy when moving to that state. Getting your license in another state that your state has reciprocity in usually means that you must pass the state portion of the real estate exam. You get to skip the real estate schooling and the national portion of the exam.


    Oregon has reciprocity with the following states and provinces:


    • Alabama
    • Alberta
    • Georgia
    • Nebraska
    • South Dakota


    It states on the Oregon Government website that the reciprocal licensing requirements are specific and you should contact the agency to learn more.


  2. How much does it cost to renew your Oregon real estate license?


    To renew your real estate license, you must first take required continuing education courses. Those may be provided by your principal broker free of charge to you. However, some may need to pay between $50-$200 to complete these courses.


    After completing your Oregon CE courses, you must pay the Oregon Real Estate Agency a $300 renewal fee.


  3. How much does a real estate agent make in Oregon?


    The real estate industry is abundant with job opportunities that perfectly match anyone interested in following a new career path. A real estate agent and a real estate broker are the two most sought-after careers within the industry. And for a good reason! Both careers as a broker and a principal broker have great growth potential and a competitive average salary.


    According to 258 reported real estate broker salaries on indeed.com, the average real estate agent makes an annual salary of $105,000.


  4. How hard is the Oregon real estate exam?


    The journey to acquire your Oregon real estate license is exciting and challenging. We understand that preparing for the Oregon Real Estate Exam can be incredibly stressful. The exam is the final barrier between a hopeful real estate professional and their dream job.


    However, the real estate exam is known to be complicated and can prove to be a difficult final barrier for many students who do not adequately prepare for the exam.


    According to the June 2022 Oregon Real Estate Exam Board Minutes, the 2022 pass rate for the first-time exam taker’s state portion of the broker exam is 46%. The pass rate for the national portion of the exam is 67%.


    For principal brokers, the first-time passing rate for the state portion is 51% and for the national portion is 62%.


    To pass the real estate exam in Oregon, you must earn a 75% or higher on the exam.


    The good news is that you can take the exam as many times as you need. You can also purchase exam prep which provides accurate test-style questions that will sharpen your knowledge and prepare you for the exam.

Written and Published by: VanEd

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here